Mike’s 2021 All-SEC First-Team Defense

First-Team All-SEC Selections

DE – Sam Williams, Ole Miss — second in the SEC with 13 sacks (School record), leads the SEC with 4 forced fumbles, 3rd in the SEC in tackles for loss with 15; had a sack in 9 of his final 12 games for Ole Miss

DL – Jordan Davis, Georgia — finalist for the Outland Trophy, Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Chuck Bednarik Award; has played in all 13 games, starting at DL in 12, and has 28 total tackles…3.5 of those are for lost yardage, including 2.0 QB sacks

DL – DeMarvin Leal, Texas A&M — started every game and set career highs with 58 tackles, 12.5 tackles for loss, 8.5 sacks

DE – Devonte Wyatt, Georgia — 34 total tackles, tops among interior linemen…fourth on the team with 22 QB pressures; SEC Defensive Lineman of the Week after Arkansas game

LB – Will Anderson Jr., Alabama — led the nation with 16 sacks; national leader in tackles for loss with 30.5; finalist for the Bednarik Award and Nagurski Trophy; SEC Defensive Player of the Week honors for his efforts against Florida, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, LSU and Auburn

LB – Damone Clark, LSU — led the nation with 136 tackles (16 more than next candidate), FInalist for Butkus Award; 19 tackles vs Ole Miss; 9.5 tackles for loss and 3 sacks; SEC Defensive Player of the Week at Mississippi St.; wore #18 for LSU this season

LB – Nakobe Dean, Georgia — won Butkus Award; recognized as the nation’s top collegiate linebacker; semifinalists for the 2021 Chuck Bednarik Award, given to the outstanding defensive player of the year; leads the team in tackles for loss with 8.5 and is tied for team lead with 5.0 QB sacks.

LB – Grant Morgan — 96 tackles, interception,  Arkansas; Campbell Trophy finalists … Burlsworth Trophy Finalist, team captain

LB – Zakoby McClain, Auburn — Lott IMPACT Trophy quarterfinalist, SEC defensive player of week (Ole Miss), Lott IMPACT Trophy player of week (Ole Miss); With 89 tackles to date in the 2021 campaign, McClain is looking to become Auburn’s first player with 100+ tackles in back-to-back seasons since Takeo Spikes in 1996 (119) and 1997 (136).

CB – Emmanuel Forbes, Mississippi State — nation’s active leader with 3 pick six touchdowns, SEC active leader with 8 interceptions, leads Mississippi State in solo tackles,

CB – Roger McCreary, Auburn — led the SEC in pass break ups; semifinalist for Chuck Bednarik Award; 34 career passes broken up, Pick 6 vs Alabama State, 2 interceptions on the season

Nickel – Antonio Johnson, Texas A&M — 79 tackles (2nd on the team), 1 INT, third on the team with 5 passes defended hard hitting safety,  Recorded a career- and team-high 15 tackles against Mississippi State, Recorded 11 tackles, 2.5 for loss, at Ole Miss

S – Jordan Battle, Alabama — 69 tackles (3rd on the team), 3 interceptions, 2 pick sixes, defensive player of the week accolades from the coaches for his play against Ole Miss, Mississippi State, LSU, New Mexico State and Auburn

S – Lewis Cine, Georgia — semifinalists for the Jim Thorpe Award; tied for team lead in tackles through 13 games with 61 total stops…also tied for team lead with eight pass breakups

S – Jaylan Foster, South Carolina — 86 tackles, including a career-high 13 stops against Tennessee, and is tied for the NCAA lead with five interceptions; semifinalists for the Jim Thorpe Award

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply